Village Markets – quarterly in March, July and September
NSW Sheep Dog Trials – March
Molong Agricultural Show – September
Molong Players Theatre Show – September
Molong started out as a police and military outpost and was visited by explorer Charles Sturt in 1828. Sir Thomas Mitchell on his 1864 expedition employed and aboriginal tracker, Yuranigh and they became close friends. His grave is on the Orange side of town and is a rare example of a combined aboriginal and european grave site.
The first copper mine in Australia, Copper Hill, (how original), was just north of the village.
In 1896 Mr Charles Packham first cultivated the now very popular Packham Pear.
79 Bank Street Molong
Ph 02 6366 8260
Open 7 days from 10am to 4.30pm
Operating for forty years it has an extensive range of crafts and gift ideas from local producers, artisans and artists. A good stop for local visitor information.
An enterprise of the Molong Historical Society.
20 Riddell Street Molong (P.O. Box 119 Molong NSW 2866)
Ph 02 6362 8960
Open Thursdays 11am to 4pm. Last Sunday of the month 12.30pm to 4pm. Other times by appointment.
Located in the 1856 Golden Fleece Hotel building. Extensive collection of local history.
5kms out of town on the Mitchell Hwy towards Orange. Turn right at the sign up a dirt road and into a private paddock. Remember to shut the gate!
MORE ORANGE INFORMATION:
Copyright © 2019 Regional Showcase Australia™ | NSW Visitor, Travel & Holiday Guide™ is an official site of Regional Showcase Australia™ | All rights reserved