Carcoar is one of Australia’s historic gems and there has been no reconstruction or replication, only preservation and restoration.
Carcoar is the third oldest settlement west of the Blue Mountains and is a wealth of history.
Nestled in a small, sheltered valley through which runs the Belubula River.
The best way to explore Carcoar is on foot. This way you can appreciate the treasures which have led to the town being classified by the National Trust. There are two magnificent churches overlooking the village and there is the imposing Courthouse in the centre of town. The little railway station is on the hillside above the village and the secluded hospital is to the east.
Carcoar was officially notified in the Government Gazette on September 29, 1839, with the first allotments sold in 1840.
In 1850 Carcoar, after Bathurst, was the second most populous town west of the Blue Mountains mountains. Its importance attracted a number of undesirables, including bushrangers who were active in the district and in the town. Ben Hall’s gang was one and they held up the Commercial Bank and raided on prominent district properties, including Coombing Park and Cliefden.
Most buildings in the town were constructed between 1860 and 1890, including the Court House (1882), Church of the Immaculate Conception (1870), St James’ Church (1861), hospital (1861-62), Police residence (1884), convent (1874), Public School (1884) and Railway Station (1888).
The earliest existing building is Stoke Stable, which houses the museum. It was built in 1849 by convict labour using local stone. (See photo at the top of the page and information below)
The foundation stone of St Paul’s Anglican Church was laid in 1845 and It is the second oldest church west of the Blue Mountains.
Church of the Immaculate Conception (1870)
Ph 12 Naylor St Carcoar
Ph 02 6267 3235 or 0428 287828
Hosts Philip and Ellen Cram
A restored heritage 1840s building in the heart of Carcoar. There are two guest rooms, a large lounge room and a private dining room downstairs, upstairs there are two more guest rooms, a long room and a large balcony with magnificent views of the village. All guest rooms have ensuite bathrooms and central heating. Free WiFi and access to shared lounge and kitchen areas.
At the rear of the main building is “Teapots Cafe” where dining is available within the tranquil cafe settings, on the surrounding verandah or in the lovely gardens. Wide variety of snacks, meals, and refreshments.
6 Belubula St, Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3009
Dinner, bed and breakfast in a historic hotel steeped in old-world charm and nestled in the main street of Carcoar. Hotel-style accommodation, with a guest-house feel. Perfect for a weekend away with family and friends, work retreats, or small functions or groups. Enjoy delicious food and regional wines, or a range of beers from the bar. Packages are available for group stays.
30 Hilton Ln, Mandurama NSW 2792
Ph 02 6367 5264
Experience rural life and country surroundings. Ten minutes south of the village of Carcoar.
Dating back to the 1820s with the property being in the family for 6 generations.
“The Cabin” located adjacent to the main home and you may join in the farm activities.
“The Hut” our shearer’s quarters provides basic accommodation for those who wish to stay on a farm and not get overwhelmed by everyday farm life.
“Thummy Jacks” a very private location, with great views. It is eco-accommodation, powered by solar panels and a wind generator.
Billed as ‘a day of fun for everyone’, the Carcoar Village Fair which is held on Australia Day attracts thousands of visitors to the historic village of Carcoar in the NSW Central Tablelands each year. Thanks to the efforts of local volunteers, the event in Carcoar is one of the largest Australia Day celebrations in the Central West which is a huge achievement for the small community of about 200 residents… MORE INFO
Eulamore St, Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3266
The “Best Little Show in the Country”.
Carcoar Cup Running Festival – November.
5 Belubula St, Carcoar NSW 2791
Ph 02 6367 3274
Open 11am to 5pm Wednesday to Sunday during the Spring and Autumn tourist seasons.
Located in the old CBC bank building and houses a collection of over 2000 toys in the five downstairs rooms that used to comprise the Banking Chamber and associated offices. The collection spans the era from the First World War right through to modern times – from Betty Boop, Dan Dare and Sad Sack to the Simpsons, Japanese Anime and Mr Blobby.
Eulamore St, Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3056, 6367 5068
Open by appointment or as advertised.
Carcoar Hospital was one of the earliest colonial hospital buildings in Australia, built to the design of architect Edward Gell, the foundation stone was laid in 1860, funded by community fundraising with Government Assistance at a cost of £2,400.
Carcoar Court House
Ph 0468 341 661
Open Weekends 10.30am – 4pm
Specialising in personalised pottery for every occasion. Domestic pottery from casseroles to carafes and everything in-between. Ornamental pottery from figurative animals to money pots and vases to platters.
School of Arts building, Icely St, Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3149
Located what used to be the projectionist’s room when a cinema, is a collection of war memorabilia. The collection is managed by the Lyndhurst RSL Sub-Branch. Open by appointment, please phone 02 6367 3149.
8 Belubula St Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3019
Open: Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Public Holidays 10am – 4pm
Browse our range of scarves, sunglasses, homewares, cards, jewelry, retro t-shirts and lots more including Romero Britto range of pop-art teapots, MOR cosmetics, Dolly mama notepads, Tiffany-style lamps, scented candles. Depending on the season they have kaftans and sun hats, or when it’s cooler, gloves and woollies. You can also relax and enjoy a coffee while you watch the world go by.
Court House Icely St, Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 4155
Built-in 1882 and designed by the Government architect James Barnet, the Carcoar Courthouse replaced one designed by Edmund Blackett. The current courthouse ceased operation in the 1950s and became the headquarters of the local historical society in 1994. A display of photographs and historical items is on public view on weekends, public holidays or by appointment.
Stoke Lane, Carcoar NSW 2791
Ph 02 6367 3173
One of the oldest buildings in Carcoar, it was built from random stone in the 1840s by convicts as an outbuilding for the nearby Stoke Hotel. Today it houses an interesting collection of items related to Carcoar’s past. The display is on public view on most days. (See photo at the top of the page)
Curio Art & Vintage
Shop 1/2 Belubula St, Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3185
Open Thursday to Sunday and public holidays.
Vast array of vintage, retro, antiques and collectibles.
The Old Cows
12 Naylor St Carcoar
Open Thursday to Sunday and Public Holidays 10:00am to 4:00pm
Variety of interesting bric-a-brac, old wares, antiques and locally made art and craft. Situated in the garden of Stoke House B&B.
Ph 02 6367 3009
An historic hotel steeped in old world charm and nestled in the main street of Carcoar with delicious food and regional wines, or a range of beers from the bar.
12 Naylor St Carcoar
Ph 02 6367 3235
Open 10am to 5:00pm, Thursday to Sunday
At the rear of historic Stoke House is “Teapots Cafe” where dining is available within the tranquil cafe settings, on the surrounding verandah or in the lovely gardens. Wide variety of snacks, meals, and refreshments.
50km (30 minutes) west of Orange
55km west of Bathurst
54km north of Cowra
195km south of Dubbo
242km north Canberra
263km east Sydney
MORE ORANGE INFO…
Copyright © 2020 Regional Showcase Australia™ | NSW Visitor, Travel & Holiday Guide™ is an official site of Regional Showcase Australia™ | All rights reserved